• Skip to Main Content
  • A- A A +
  • . .


Reserve Forest

Reserve Forest: ‘Ridge’ which is the rocky outcrop of Aravali hills in Delhi, has been notified as Reserved Forests under Section 4 of the Indian Forest Act, 1927 vide Notification no. F.10(42)-1/PA/DCF/93/2012-17(I) dated 24th May, 1994. The Hon’ble Supreme Court, through various orders passed in Writ Petition (Civil) No. 4677/1985 (MC Mehta vs. UOI & Ors. ) has directed that ridge should be maintained in its pristine glory. The ridge is comprised of the following :

  • Northern Ridge (Kamla Nehru Ridge)
  • Central Ridge
  • South-Central Ridge Forest
  • Southern Ridge Forest

Protected Forest

Protected Forest: The following areas in Delhi have been notified as Protected Forests under Section 29 of the Indian Forest Act, 1927 vide Notification no SCO.32(C)/Noti-80-81/6974-81 Dt. 10.04.80 

  • District Park Hauz Khas
  • Jahapanah City Forest
  • Basant Nagar, Moradabad Pahari
  • Vasant Vihar Distt. Park
  • Dhaula Kuan Complex
  • Nehru University Afforestation
  • District Park Gokulpuri
  • District Park Jhilmil Taharpur
  • Zonal Area Kalyanpuri, Trilokpuri, Khichripur, Ghazipur – Commonly known as Sanjay Lake
  • Orchard Between Sindhora Kalan, Nimri, Gulabi Bagh & Darbar kalan Nursery and other area
  • Area between Hill Road & Lucknow Castle Road
  • Orchard in Wazirpur
  • Mayapuri Green Belt
  • Hastsal Afforestation
  • Area between Inderpuri Naraina J.J. Colony
  • Afforestation M P Green area Tagore Garden
  • Orchard Nangloi Sayed
  • Distt. Park Rohtak Road Co-operative Society
  • Afforestation M.P. Green Area Najafgarh Drain
  • Distt. Park in between Pitampura Co-operative Society